Next Round of POPPERS: A Daily Writing Review (And a little bragging)

It’s done!  It’s done!  Set 2 of POPPERS: A Daily Writing Review is up in my TpT store now!  This set is the next 6 weeks in the series.

Screen Shot 2014-09-22 at 10.31.35 PM

Just like set 1, each day is themed, and each week reviews the same skill in different ways.  Let me tell you…my kiddos are LOVING this!  Their favorite days of the week are Tuesdays and Thursdays.  On Tuesdays, they get to draw pictures to go with 3 of the skills.  What kid doesn’t like to draw?  And Thursdays are “Rule Breaking” days.  They think that’s pretty cool.  The funny part about that…Thursdays are the hardest.  This REALLY requires them to THINK!  They have to be able to reverse their knowledge and write things the WRONG way…and that’s pretty difficult to do…but they still love it.  :)

I’ve taken some pics of them working on their pages and thought I’d share them with you.  (If you click on the pictures it will take you to a full screen where you can actually READ them!)  They are doing such a great job!  And I’m so glad that I’m able to spiral all of these skills in a relatively short amount of time each day.  I feel like we are getting a lot of bang for our buck…EVERY day!  :)

Here are are just a few of the days.  We actually haven’t gotten to Journal Day every week because of crazy schedules/assemblies/running out of time, but once they actually did it….WOW!  They totally impressed me.  I even had students tell me that they “don’t like to write that much,” but then wrote front AND back on their page to try to get in all the rules for the week.  Little stinkers!  😉

Screen Shot 2014-09-23 at 7.01.17 PM











I know these show up funky…but I can’t get them to line up.  Forgive me on this one!  😉

This is Picture Day, where the students draw some sort of picture to help them remember the idiom, homophones, and sparkle word for the week.  Even though some of them are hard to draw, they do it anyway…and always come up with something interesting!

Screen Shot 2014-09-23 at 7.08.30 PM












This is Rule Breaking day, where they purposely write the rules the wrong way.  Like I said, this is very hard…especially for some students…but the more they do it, the more they get the hang of it.  And they like to be able to “break the rules” and not get into trouble for it!  After writing sentences and words incorrectly, they pass it to a table mate and have them correct it.  This also opens up lots of conversations about their work.  Some tell me that it’s already written correctly and they don’t have to do anything.  My response: Great!  Now you really know these rules and can see that even though it was supposed to be done wrong, it was actually done right!  Good for you!

Screen Shot 2014-09-23 at 7.15.27 PM



















These pics are a little blurry.  Sorry about that.  We usually write with the lights off, and my flash apparently didn’t go off on all of the pictures.  But you get the idea.  This was one of our Journal Days, where students write a short imaginative story, putting in as many of the rules we studied for the week as possible in the amount of time I give them.  They TOTALLY shocked me with this…especially hearing the groans looking at a page with lines that filled the page.  Again…little stinkers!  But they SOOO did it and did it very well.  I am just so proud of how far they have already come!!

So…if you haven’t grabbed a copy of this little gem, do it!  This has already impacted my classroom more than I ever dreamed.  Students are coming up with sparkle words during reading, correcting their own writing during Writer’s Workshop, and looking for words in their everyday reading.  It’s amazing!  I feel like this has somewhat opened their eyes to how writers use rules in their everyday lives.  And let me tell you…it’s a pretty cool feeling.

If you want a copy of POPPERS, you can grab it here.  Or you can click the link over on the right-hand side of the screen and visit my TpT store and look around.  There are now 2 sets of the daily writing review.  You can start with whichever set you’d like.  It starts a little easier and gets harder as it goes, but if you’ve already covered a lot of grammar rules, you may want to just start with set 2.  In all, there will be 5 sets…enough for 30 whole weeks of grammar/writing review.

I’m getting my permission forms ready for my kidlettes to show off their writing they have done during Writer’s Workshop, so hopefully my next post will be our very first published writing piece.  I can’t wait to show you how THAT’S going!  I’m so pumped!  This year has gotten off to a great start!

Until next time…



  1. Debbie Snodderly says:

    Thanks for creating “Poppers”. My students also like Picture Day and Rule Breaking Day. They love for me to say, “Wrong, wrong, wrong!” on Rule Breaking Day. On that day, it’s great to be wrong and I like acting like they are killing me with their “wrong” answers. Thanks for all of your hard work on these. I know that they are helping my students’ writing skills. Can’t wait to see the new set!

  2. Tammy Vitek says:

    Hi, Kayla,
    I’m looking for Set 3 of your Poppers!

Speak Your Mind